Évaluation psychodiagnostique

Une évaluation psychodiagnostique vise à clarifier et, si approprié, à poser des diagnostics sur les troubles de comportement, de fonctionnement émotionnel, de l’humeur, d’anxiété et de la personnalité. Typiquement, le processus implique une combinaison d’entrevues cliniques, d’observations et de questionnaires pour collectionner toutes les informations pertinentes. Dans certains cas, des tests cognitifs peuvent également être appropriés. Sur la base des résultats, un rapport complet résumera les activités et les résultats de l’évaluation, ainsi que des recommandations pour le traitement et la gestion des symptômes à la maison et dans d’autres contextes (par exemple l’école ou le travail).

Évaluation psychoéducationelle

Une évaluation psychoéducationelle vise à clarifier et, si approprié, à diagnostiquer les préoccupations liées au fonctionnement scolaire. Typiquement, le processus implique une combinaison d’entrevues cliniques, d’observations, de questionnaires de comportement et de symptômes, ainsi que de tests cognitifs, de mémoire et académiques. Les tests cognitifs impliquent l’évaluation des compétences cognitives, telles que le raisonnement verbal, le raisonnement spatial, la résolution de problèmes, etc. Le test de mémoire implique l’évaluation de compétences spécifiques en mémoire, telles que le rappel et la reconnaissance visuelle et verbale. Les tests académiques impliquent l’évaluation de compétences académiques spécifiques dans les domaines de la lecture, de l’écriture, des mathématiques et de l’expression orale. Sur la base des résultats, un rapport complet résumera les activités et les résultats de l’évaluation, ainsi que des recommandations pour aborder ces difficultés à la maison et à l’école. Les recommandations décrivent des stratégies spécifiques à utiliser pour soutenir l’apprentissage d’un enfant en s’appuyant sur ses forces. Si nécessaire, des consultations scolaires peuvent également être organisées pour aider à la mise en œuvre des recommandations.

Évaluation neuropsychologique

Une évaluation neuropsychologique vise à comprendre de manière exhaustive les forces et les faiblesses cognitives d’un enfant ou d’un jeune. Comparée à une évaluation psychoéducationelle, une évaluation neuropsychologique implique de mesurer des capacités cognitives supplémentaires, telles que le traitement auditif et visuel, la perception sensorielle, les fonctions motrices et les fonctions exécutives. Sur la base des résultats, un rapport complet résumera les activités et les résultats de l’évaluation, ainsi que des recommandations pour soutenir les besoins de la personne à la maison et dans d’autres contextes (par exemple l’école ou le travail).

Référez-moi maintenant

La thérapie individuelle est un processus par lequel les clients travaillent avec un professionnel qualifié dans un environnement chaleureux et encourageant pour les aider à comprendre comment leurs pensées, leurs croyances et leurs expériences passées peuvent contribuer à leurs émotions négatives et à leurs comportements inadaptés. Avec le professionnel, les clients identifient leurs objectifs personnels et s’efforcent d’atteindre ces objectifs grâce à des approches fondées sur des données probantes. Les clients recherchent une thérapie individuelle pour plusieurs raisons. La thérapie peut traiter des troubles de santé mentale spécifiques tels que l’anxiété et la dépression, elle peut fournir une compréhension de la façon dont les expériences passées contribuent à l’état actuel de l’individu, ou elle peut être utilisé comme un moyen de croissance et d’auto-actualisation.

Nos services pour adultes sont constitués d’évaluations et de traitements basés sur des données probantes, destinés à ceux qui font face à un certain nombre de défis. Nous offrons des services de santé cliniques et psychologiques. Parmi nos approches de traitements fondées sur des données probantes, citons la Thérapie cognitivo-comportementale (TCC), la Thérapie cognitive basée sur la pleine conscience et la Thérapie interpersonnelle (TIP). Nous utilisons une approche intégrée pour répondre aux besoins individuels de nos clients. Nos services peuvent aider ceux qui ont besoin de soutien pour gérer les conditions suivantes :

 

  • Troubles d’humeur (y compris la dépression et le trouble bipolaire)
  • Troubles d’anxiété (y compris le trouble d’anxiété généralisé, le trouble panique, l’agoraphobie et le trouble obsessif-compulsif)
  • Problèmes périnataux (y compris la dépression ou l’anxiété prénatale et postpartum)
  • Infertilité
  • Transition vers le rôle de parent
  • Problèmes liés à la santé des femmes (y compris la santé sexuelle et les troubles de douleur pelvienne)
  • Douleur chronique
  • Ajustements à des conditions médicales (p. ex. cancer, côlon irritable, etc.)
  • Insomnie et autres troubles du sommeil
  • Troubles liés au stress ou à des évènements traumatisants
  • Stress lié à des problèmes en milieu de travail
  • Besoins en matière de soutien lors d’évènements de la vie (y compris le mariage, la parentalité, un changement d’emploi, le divorce, la retraite, etc.)
  • Phobies

Nous sommes heureux de vous offrir ces services en anglais, en français et en espagnol.

Référez-moi maintenant

Une alternative à la thérapie individuelle est la thérapie de groupe. La thérapie de groupe est un moyen efficace de fournir un traitement fondé sur des données probantes. Dans la thérapie de groupe, un ou deux thérapeutes facilitent un groupe d’individus traitant de problèmes similaires. La thérapie de groupe peut être aussi efficace que la thérapie individuelle et elle offre de nombreux avantages, y compris le soutien, l’encouragement et la compréhension d’autres personnes qui surmontent des problèmes similaires. Les groupes sont généralement couverts par la plupart des prestations de soins de santé et des régimes d’assurance privés.

Au moment présent, nous offrons seulement des groups en anglais.

Référez-moi maintenant

Adults

Psychodiagnostic Assessment

A psychodiagnostic assessment aims to clarify, and if appropriate, diagnose, concerns in the areas of behavior, emotional functioning, mood, anxiety, and personality traits. Typically, the process involves a combination of clinical interviews, observations, and questionnaires to collect all pertinent information. In some cases, cognitive tests may also be appropriate. Based on the findings, a comprehensive report will summarize the assessment activities and findings, as well as provide recommendations for treatment and management of symptoms at home and in other contexts (e.g. school or work).

Psychoeducational Assessment

A psychoeducational assessment aims to clarify, and if appropriate, diagnose concerns related to academic functioning. Typically, the process involves a combination of clinical interviews, observations, behavior and symptom questionnaires, as well as cognitive, memory, and academic testing. Cognitive testing involves assessing cognitive skills, such as verbal reasoning, spatial reasoning, problem solving, and more. Memory testing involves assessing specific memory skills, such as visual and verbal recall and recognition. Academic testing involves assessing specific academic skills in the areas of reading, writing, math, and oral expression. Based on the findings, a comprehensive report will summarize the assessment activities and findings, as well as provide recommendations for addressing these difficulties at home and at school. The recommendations outline specific strategies to use to support a child’s learning by relying on their areas of strength. If necessary, school consultations may also be provided to assist in the implementation of the recommendations.

Neuropsychological

A neuropsychological assessment aims to comprehensively understand a child or youth’s cognitive strengths and weaknesses. Compared to a psychoeducational assessment, a neuropsychological assessment involves measuring additional cognitive abilities, such as auditory and visual processing, sensory perception, motor functions and executive functions. Based on the findings, a comprehensive report will summarize the assessment activities and findings, as well as provide recommendations for supporting the individual’s needs at home and in other contexts (e.g. school or work).

Refer Me Now

Individual therapy is a process by which clients work with a trained professional in a warm and supportive environment to help them understand how their thoughts, beliefs and past experiences may be contributing to their negative emotions and maladaptive behaviours. With the professional, clients identify personal goals and work towards attaining those goals through evidence-based approaches. People seek individual therapy for many reasons. It can treat specific mental health disorders such as anxiety and depression, it can provide an understanding of how past experiences contribute to an individual’s current state, or it can be used as a means for growth and self-actualization.

Our adult service offers evidence-based assessments and treatments to adults who are facing a number of challenges.  We provide clinical and health psychological services. Our evidence based treatment approaches include Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT), Mindfulness Integrated Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (MiCBT), and Interpersonal Therapy (IPT). We strive to use an integrative approach to meet the needs of our individual clients. Our services can help individuals who need support for the following conditions:

  • Mood disorders (including depression and bipolar disorder)
  • Anxiety disorders (including generalized anxiety, panic disorder, agoraphobia, obsessive compulsive disorder)
  • Perinatal issues (including prenatal and postpartum depression and anxiety)
  • Infertility counselling
  • Transition to parenthood
  • Women’s health issues (including sexual health and gynecological pain disorders)
  • Chronic Pain
  • Adjustment to medical conditions (such as cancer, IBS, etc.)
  • Insomnia and other sleep disorders
  • Disorders related to stress and trauma
  • Stress related to workplace issues
  • Support through life transition (including marriage, parenthood, job change, divorce, retirement, etc.)
  • Phobias

We are pleased to offer these services in English, French, and Spanish.

Refer Me Now

An alternative to individual therapy is group therapy. Group therapy is an effective way to deliver evidence-based treatment.  In group therapy, one or two therapists facilitate a group of individuals dealing with similar issues. Group therapy can be as effective as individual therapy and it offers many benefits, including support, encouragement and understanding of other people who are overcoming similar problems. Groups are typically covered by most health care benefits and private insurance plans.

Please click below for a list of groups being offered for adults and/or parents at CAFCO.

Kathleen Lalande, C. Psych. is excited to offer this workshop to Ottawa Couples who are expecting a new baby or who have recently welcomed one into their lives. The workshop will give couples the skills needed to encourage healthy, supportive family relationships as they prepare for the transition to parenthood. Couples will learn how to:

  • Strengthen their relationship
  • Effectively manage stress and conflict
  • Recognize and respond to postpartum mood, anxiety, and adjustment issues and postpartum depression.
  • Meet the emotional and psychological needs of the child
  • Keep both parents involved in parenting

safeTALK is a three-hour training program developed by a multi-disciplinary team through LivingWorks, originally based out of Calgary, Alberta. Developed as an extension of the Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training, safeTALK prepares helpers to identify persons with thoughts of suicide and connect them to suicide first aid resources. Most people with thoughts of suicide, either directly or indirectly, invite help to stay safe. Alert helpers know how to identify and work with these opportunities to help protect life. Throughout the training, videos illustrate both non-alert and alert responses. Discussion and practice stimulates learning.

The safeTALK program has been used across Canada as well as in the United States and Australia. Research into the effectiveness of safeTALK has shown its effectiveness within a variety of populations and community settings.

Braswell, W. J. (2011). Does safeTALK equip airmen to intervene when a fellow military member is having suicidal thoughts? [Thesis – Columbia International University, Columbia, SC].

Eynan, R. (2011). Preventing suicides in the Toronto Subway System: A program evaluation. [Thesis – University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario].

Forward for Life & Common Unity. (2014). Suicide prevention training in Hertfordshire: An overview of delivery of the combined approach for suicide prevention implemented on behalf of Hertfordshire County Council Public Health Service 2014.

Gullestrup, J., Lequertier, B., & Martin, G. (2011). MATES in construction: Impact of a multimodal, community-based program for suicide prevention in the construction industry. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 8, 4180-4196.

McLean, J., Schinkel, M., et al. (2007). Evaluation of the Scottish safeTALK pilot. Edinburgh, Scotland: Scottish Development Centre for Mental Health.

Mellanby, R., Hundson, N. P. H., et al. (2010). Evaluation of suicide awareness programmes delivered to veterinary undergraduates and academic staff. Veterinary Record, 167, 730-734.

Refer Me Now